Table of Hardness of Gems

A table of the hardness of the principal gems and precious stones, including the diamond, sapphire, chysoberyl, topaz, emerald, garnet, amethyst, peridot, opal, and lapis-lazuli


10.- Diamond.

9 1/2.- (Carborundum.)

9.- Sapphire and ruby (also all the color varieties of sapphire).

8 1/2.- Chrysoberyl (alexandrite).

8.- True topaz and spinel (rubicelle, balas ruby).

7 1/2.- Emerald, aquamarine, beryl, Morganite, zircon (jacinth and true hyacinth and jargoon), almandine garnet.

7 1/4.- Pyrope garnet (Arizona ruby, cape ruby), hessonite garnet (cinnamon stone), tourmaline (various colors vary from 7 to 7 1/2), kunzite (7+)

7.- Amethyst, various quartz gems, quartz "topaz," jade (jadeite).

6 1/2.- Peridot (chrysolite), demantoid garnet ("olivine"), jade (nephrite).

6.- Opal, moonstone, turquoise.

5.- Lapis lazuli.

Copyright 2004 by JJKent, Inc

You are here: JJKent Home >> Precious Stones Guide Vol 7 >> Table of Hardness of Gems 

<<Identifying Gems Using the Hardness Test Minerals Used in Testing Hardness>>

DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: